Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Sewing School is Open

9 Comments


School is officially open.  The lessons start from the basics and will get progressively more advance.  I intend to post a lesson at least once a week.  I suggest you get yourself a 2” or 3” binder, a set of tab dividers, a paper hole puncher, and glue or a stapler.  Print out the lesson. Mount the finished sample to a tab divider so you can easily lift it to see both sides of the sample, label the tab so that it’s meaningful to you, and insert the tab and the printed lesson in the binder.  Now you have the beginnings of a reference book that you will use for years.    

 An important message to the beginner sewist:  Sewing is like any other sport or hobby, the more you practice, the better you get!  Don’t get discouraged and don’t give up.  No one is perfect.    

You can post questions in the comment section and I will respond.  You can also post suggestions for making the lesson better.    

Here is the first sample to create, which truly is for a beginner sewist.  Many beginner sewist simply cut and sew, neglecting to finish their seams.  Finished seams will make your garment last longer; the raw edges of your seams won’t fray and unravel, increasing the probability that the seams will separate while you are wearing your garment.  If you are going to invest all that time in cutting and sewing a garment, take the few extra minutes to finish the seam edges so you can proudly wear your garment for a long, long time.    

 Techniques in Sewing Lesson #1      

  • Sewing a straight seam
  • Finishing a seam with a zigzag
  • Making a wide double fold hem
  • Making a small double fold hem

Click here  and let’s get started!  

 

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

9 thoughts on “Sewing School is Open

  1. I think that you are wonderful for doing this. I will be looking in and starting my notebook too. Thanks!

    • Faye, thanks for the encouragement. I know your have great sewing skills, so any comments or suggestions are welcomed.

  2. Doris, this is great. Thank you so much! I’ll definitely be keeping up. I’m heading out now to buy some muslin to practice on.

    • Ninoshka, I am glad you are diving in. You were one of the young women to inspire me to do this. Thanks for your enthusiasm!

  3. This is a great idea and will definitely be creating a binder for your lessons.

  4. Hey Aunt Doris I am super excited about this!!! Now I just have to get a sewing machine. Any suggestions on where to go

    • Hi Nikky:

      I am glad you are onboard! Read my next post. Call me if you want to talk about a particular machine that you have in line.

  5. This is a good idea. I am going to create a binder for myself

  6. Thank you, thank you, thank you! I found your site by searching for tips on drafting and sewing a 6-gore skirt. While I am not inexperienced around a sewing machine ( e.g., I can sew pinch-pleat drapes, roman shades, duvet covers, etc. ), I am uncomfortable sewing articles of clothing. I can wait to teach not only myself, but my eldest DD as well.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.