Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Sewing Help Needed!

Leave a comment


pretty and polishedOperation Pretty and Polished is an event that allows students to select free prom outfits. At the event, friends and I have altered some of the gowns for the girls and pants for the boys. I am reaching out to sewists in the Washington, DC area and asking if you can spare an hour or more and help with minor alterations at the event.

Beginning sewing skills are fine! The minor alterations are shortening the length of the gowns by machine, taking in side seams, and hemming pants. If you can mark a hem, please help. If you can take stitches out, please help. If you can stitch a simple seam and can bring a portable sewing machine, please help.

The Operation Pretty and Polished event is Saturday, April 20, 2013 from 9am – 3pm at the Boys and Girls Club of Greater Washington. Contact Julia Irving, the Community Outreach Coordinator Sixth District at the Metropolitan Police Department at 202-698-1315.

I want to be at the Operation Pretty and Polished event, but I can’t. A promotion at work gave me a new role, and the new role is keeping me from this year’s event. I plan to be there next year, but more help is needed this year.

Thanks in advance.

Sincerely, Doris

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

