Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Creative Sewing – Chapter 3

Leave a comment


Creative sewing also means creative patternmaking.  One of my favorite methods for making a flare skirt is using a paper rectangle to slash and spread on the fabric.  The width of the rectangle for the front skirt piece is 1/2 the width of the front waist plus side seam allowance.  The length of the rectangle is the skirt length plus waist seam allowance and hem allowance.  The fabric is folded in half.  The rectangle is slashed, but not all the way through, into four equal pieces.  I spread the strips at the hem to the width of the fabric.  You are looking at the front skirt piece in the picture with the center front on the fold of the fabric. The back skirt piece is made the same as the front piece except you use 1/2 the width of the back waist plus side and center back seam allowances.  The back skirt piece is cut with the center back at the selvage since there will be a seam at the center back.  The back for this dress will have a flared inset, which is pie shaped piece in the third picture. Needless to say, the “pattern” pieces are for use one time.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

