Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Creative Sewing – Chapter 2

Leave a comment


bodice in progress

I selected the fabric for the bodice.  I’m using red brocade.  I used this fabric previously for the homecoming dress for my daughter Y.  It’s really a rich looking fabric.  So far I’ve cut and stitched the bodice pieces and machine basted the bodice to the inner foundation.

I decided to use a black fabric, which I can best describe as a medium-weight peau de soie or a delustered satin, for the skirt.  It has a great drape when handling it.  I am still trying to determine how I will embellish the dress.

In the meantime, I am trying a little creative baking.  I have a buttermilk pie in the oven.  This is the first time I’ve tried this recipe, so I hope my family likes it.  Buttermilk in a pie just sounded intriguing to me.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

