Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

The Science of Me

2 Comments


Last week I purchased the buttons for my black linen outfit.  I wore the top and pants with pearl accessories.  I liked the look, but I wasn’t totally in love with the top.  Today I finished the dotted linen dress.  I tried it on and again, I liked the look, but I wasn’t totally in love with the dress.  I’ll post a picture of me in the dress when I can get my “photographer” to take some.  I now know why I am not in love with these last two outfits.  My body has changed!

Friday, I stopped at the library and while browsing the sewing section I came upon a book called “The Science of Sexy” and checked the book out along with books on making handbags.  Well I just finished looking through the book and now I know why I am not loving the outfits. 

Here’s the linen outfit with short sleeves.  I should have made the top with 3/4 sleeves.  See the difference.

As for the dress, I made it a shift and I should have made a fitted sheath with an a-line silhouette.   

Over the years my shoulder have become broader, my bust fuller and my waist less defined.  Over the years I have gone from

Such is life.  So I’ve written out a style plan for my current body that I will refer to as I make things for myself. 

My Body

  • Shoulders slightly wider than hips
  • Undefined waist
  • Full bust
  • Good legs
  • Shapely butt
  • On the shorter end of average height
  • Medium-full size in weight
  • Inverted triangle-rectangle

 I must remember to play down my shoulder and add curves to my hips and bottom to make my waist look smaller in comparison.

 Tops

  • V-neck, U-neck and low scoop neck
  • Tailored dress shirts
  • Wrap tops
  • Tunic tops at the hip
  • Drop waist with band at the hip
  • ¾ sleeves or long sleeves look best

Dresses

  • Thick straps
  • Corset waist
  • Drop waist
  • Fitted bodices
  • A-line dresses
  • Wrap dresses
  • Empire dresses

Pants/Jeans

  • Straight leg, slight flared or boot cut
  • Cropped and capri pants hit at the knee

Skirts

  • Semi-circle skirts
  • Gored skirts
  • Pleated skirts (pleats sewn to the hip)
  • A-line skirts
  • Medium sized prints and patterns
  • Lighter colors
  • Medium to thick textured fabrics
  • Medium to heavy weight fabrics
  • Hem just above, at or just below knee
  • Limit pencil skirts to tapered shape, wear with a shapely jacket

 Jackets

  • Princess seam
  • Peplum jacket
  • Jacket at hip
  • Low  or high stance
  • Chanel style worn open

Coats

  • Trench coat belted to cinch waist and tapering outward to create hourglass
  • Empire
  • Princess seam
  • Flared hem

Jewelry

  • Sizeable pendant necklaces
  • Large dangling earrings
  • Cuffs or bangles
  • Bags hit at the hip

Shoes

  • Pointy toed heels
  • Peep toe heels
  • Cut away arches
  • Sling back heels

Color blocking

  • Light top with light bottom
  • Dark top with dark bottom
  • Dark top with light bottom
  • Wear dark color in the middle to create illusion of waist

 This will be an interesting sewing season.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

2 thoughts on “The Science of Me

  1. But good for you for figuring it out what will work AND being able to sew the new options into your wardrobe! My body has changed too – from large bust, tiny waist, average hips to extremely large bust, average waist, slightly hippy. Good times!

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

