Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

These Dresses ARE NOT the Same!

Leave a comment


Do these patterns look alike?

S2648

V8666

According to my husband they do.  Last week I am standing in front of the mirror in a muslin of Vogue 8666.  I’d planned to cut into a piece of embroidered linen I brought last year from Joanne’s. The beige linen has embroidered dots of black, brown and grey.  I had a piece of grey linen for the side panels.  I just needed to check the fit of the muslin.  In comes my husband and out comes his statement, “You’re making another one of those dresses?”

Me: “I’ve never made this dress.”

Him: “Yes, you have.  You made two of them.”

Me: “No, I haven’t. Those dresses have a waist seam and princess seaming.  One dress has a flare skirt.  This dress has side panels.”

Him: “They’re the same dresses. I don’t care what you say.  For someone so creative….”  His words trail off as he leaves the room.

I pulled out the last two dresses I made and laughed.  What he saw was sleeveless dresses with a V neckline.

I was determined to ignore him and cut the dress as planned, but I couldn’t.  Days later I stopped at the store and brought pieces of black and brown linen.  Here’s the dress in progress.

I hate when he has a point.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

