Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Buttons and Memories

1 Comment


I finished my top, but I don’t have buttons for it.  Once upon a time I had a hugh bag of buttons, fancy and plain.  Some of the buttons were from a jumper my mother made for me by hand when I was about five.  Small brass buttons with a bumble bee in the middle.  I don’t know what happened to the bag of buttons.  I haven’t seen the bag for years and years.  Now I have a small round box of buttons that once belonged to my mother, who died five years ago.   A blue plastic box with a gold painted rose rising from the middle.  The box once held perfumed dusting powder; now it holds buttons.  Most of them were cut from clothes she discarded.  Except for a couple of buttons, none of them are fancy, just functional.  In my jewelry box are seven beautiful gold buttons, shaped liked laurel wreaths, studded with tiny crystals surrounding a white pearl.  Two of the buttons have been made into earrings.  The buttons were brought for my dress for a friend’s wedding.  When the dress became too small, I cut the buttons off and gave the dress to a thrift store.  The buttons were not serving a functional purpose, purely decorative. I next used the button on a two piece dress for my sister’s wedding. The dress was made of crepe-backed satin and the buttons snagged the dress throughout the day.  After the wedding I cut the buttons off and threw the dress away.  Seeing the buttons make me think of those weddings.

Tomorrow I will stop at the store and buy black buttons for my top.  Black buttons with no memories attached.

I just finished making a black linen pencil skirt to match the top.  My husband asked me was I making an ensemble.  I laughed because I didn’t know he even knew the word.  I guess his vocabulary has changed in the 26 years we been together.

I am taking a break while deciding what my next project will be.  There’s copper colored linen I want to cut, but I don’t have zippers or buttons to match, so I don’t want to start it. I have beige linen embroidered with black, brown and grey circles that’s calling me.  I have lining and a zipper for that, so maybe a dress is next.

Let me get a cup of coffee and think about the possibilities.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

One thought on “Buttons and Memories

  1. You are on a roll lady! So good to hear about and now I’m getting motivated ;o) I’m up for developing a line of “business kimono’s” that work as business casual line … we’ll talk…

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

