Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Recess is Over, Sewing School in Session. Sewing Lesson: Flat-fell Seam and Patch Pocket (square corners, unlined)

Leave a comment


 

Hello students.  Four prom dresses, one wedding dress for customer, and a graduation dress for daughter are complete.  Sewing school was in recess until all that sewing was done.  The break is over and the sewing lessons are back.  The next few lessons will be part of a series on pockets.  We will do patch pockets (square and rounded corners), an in-seam pocket, and a side front pocket.  The lessons will also include the flat-fell seam, the welt seam, and the double welt seam.

Here’s the lesson for the flat-fell seam and the unlined patch pocket with square corners.  Don’t forget you can post questions in the comments section.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

