Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

It’s Just Another Pretty Dress

1 Comment


I am working on a little black dress. I had a remnant of beautiful black lace, some trims, chiffon and satin.  So it’s a good-time little black dress.  While stitching the bodice and skirt to the midriff, I thought about Project Runway.  I have watched this show from the very first season and it sometimes seems that it’s a no-no to make a pretty dress on that show.  The judges and fans, “It’s just another pretty dress.”  My response, “And the problem would be…?” 

Fashion is about function and aesthetics, and balancing the two.  Even a little girl will protest if you try to get her to wear an ugly dress. Or a dress that is uncomfortable.  I don’t know when things changed to the point that if it’s not “edgy” (makes you say out loud “What the…”) then it’s not fashionable.

So I will continue with my unfashionable pursuits and work on ANOTHER pretty dress.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

One thought on “It’s Just Another Pretty Dress

  1. Looking forward to seeing your LBD.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

