Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Prom Adventures – Final Chapter

4 Comments


Prom night is over and we have all recuperated.  My daughter and her friends looked glamorous and they enjoyed prom night.  They had their red carpet moment and it started with the limo.  This thing was as long as a bus and they walked a red carpet to enter it.  Big different from the brown Buick LeSabre that took me to my prom with my mother in the driver’s seat.  

I only have shots of two of the dresses.  D was meeting them elsewhere, so I did not get a picture of her in her dress.  Bummer.  I hope to get one from her. 

I love making party dresses and I enjoyed making these.  Today in the Washington Post is a story about an organization that gives new and used dresses to any young lady who needs one.  And there are plenty of young ladies who need help in these financial times.  My husband is still complaining about the cost and I made my daughter’s dress.  This organization is called Once Upon a Prom.   There are a slew of similar organizations.  Use the search term “Cinderella Project” and you will find one near you.  If you don’t, you may want to start one. 

Here’s an idea for the sewists out there.  We all have humongous stashes of fabric, which we may never get through.  How about taking a fabulous piece out of your stash and making a great party dress in any size.  Then give your creation to one of these organizations.  It’s a win-win situation.  Some young lady gets a beautiful prom dress that she would never be able to afford and you get a tax-break for a charitable donation.  This would make a wonderful sew-along.   I have to give this more thought.

Ummmm…….

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

4 thoughts on “Prom Adventures – Final Chapter

  1. The dresses look great and kudos to you for encouraging others to donate. Here in Texas (Austin & Dallas) we have Prom Shop Project!

    • I spoke with my sewing student and she loved the idea of working on fancy dresses and donating them. We are starting to make a couple of dresses for that purpose.

  2. The girls look beautiful! And how nice they want to go as a group – they probably had a lot more fun and will remember it forever!

    • I also like the idea of a group. None of the stress of getting a date for the prom. From the pictures I saw, they had a great time.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

