Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Prom Adventures – Chapter 2

Leave a comment


The beading on the dress bodice is done.  I really have to learn how to use a tambour needle to do beading.  I just brought a tambour needle, but it will take a lot of time to master it, so I used a needle and thread to do this.  I did find a good video demonstration by Professor Bob Haven of the University of Kentucky.  Now I can see what I was doing wrong.  I will get to practice once these dresses are done.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

The beloved daughter did not spend all her father’s money.  She caught some great sales.  With the remaining $35 she did as her father instructed; she paid the tiny balance on the limo and put gas in her car.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

A recap of a conversation between daughter and older brother.

Brother: You got a date for the prom?

Daughter (with the bad-odor expression): NO!

Brother: Okay, because I would have to have a conversation with him. (punches his open hand with his fist and tries to look menacing) Why you don’t have a date?

Daughter: We didn’t want dates.  We are going as a group.

Brother: Oh no!  Don’t tell me you are one of those independent women.  (in a high pitch voice) I don’t need a man.  I got it going on!

Mother: She doesn’t need a man.  She does have it going on.  My friends and I went to our senior prom as a group.  Z went to hers solo.

Brother: Z! Not a good example. (lots of laughter from everyone)

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Now it’s time to put the bodice together and finish the dress.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

