Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Prom Adventures – Chapter 1

3 Comments


A recap of the conversation as a father and daughter negotiates money for accessories to go with the prom dress.

Father:  How much money do you need?

Daughter: $100

Father: $100! 

Daughter: Yeah.  If I don’t spend it all, I bring you back the change.

Father: Let me tell you something.  The more money you give a kid, the more money they will spend.

Daughter: I’ll bring you back change.

Father: It that it for the prom?

Daughter: What do you mean is that it?

Father: I don’t have to give you any more money after this?

Daughter: I have to get my nails done on Thursday and my hair done on Friday.

Note: The father and daughter are in the next room, so I can’t see the father’s face at this time, but I am sure my husband’s eyebrows have arched up at this point, meaning “you have got to be joking.”

Father: What kind of accessories do you need?

Daughter: Earrings, a bracelet, a ring and a purse.

Father: Let’s go ask your mother.

Mother (calling out before they enter her sewing room):  Is this your red carpet moment?

Daughter: Yes.

Mother: She needs earrings, a bracelet, a ring and a purse.

Father (with exasperation): Here!

Daughter (taking $100): Thanks.

I try to make my husband feel better by telling him in two years when L goes to the senior prom we will have it much easier.  All we will have to do is rent a tux and chip in for the limo.  The haircut is free; my oldest son is a barber.

 He feels a little better.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Meanwhile, I am working on prom dresses.  One is an apricot-color organza and charmeuse gown.  It has a floor length full circle skirt.  Just marking the hem took a while, so imagine how long it took to finish the organza layer with a narrow machine hem.  I still have to hem the charmeuse layer and the lining.

I am also beading the back bodice. After three hours of beading, I am taking a break!

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

3 thoughts on “Prom Adventures – Chapter 1

  1. LOL! Classic, love the description and can definitely visualize the interaction! I’m sure this scene is being repeated in many households!

  2. Hope you post pics of the gowns you are working on!

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

