Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Sewing and Celebrating

Leave a comment


Yesterday I woke up and knew I had a full day ahead of me.  First, I made a new outfit, quick and easy.  The fabric is a printed poly knit from my local JoAnn fabric store.  I used my go-to knit top pattern, making the scoop neck, and raising the neckline 3” so my bra would not be on display.  The skirt is my go-to gore skirt pattern that I drafted last year during my skirt blitz.  Since this knit had a lot of stretch, I put elastic in the waist.  I made a tie belt to complete the outfit.  My husband thought it was a nice outfit when I tried it on, but wanted to know why I didn’t make it a one piece.  I just smiled at him.  He loves me in wrap dresses.

Next, shower and dress.  I did the wash and go hair.  So where am I going?  My sister’s 50th birthday party in New York.  You know I must love my sister because I am about to spend 4 hours on a Greyhound bus to attend a party starting at 11 p.m.  Yes, that’s my bedtime!  Then, I am on a 3 a.m. Amtrak train back to Maryland because it’s my 25th wedding anniversary and I want to be home.

I had fun at the birthday party.  It was part of a larger dance held at a dance studio a few blocks from FIT (Fashion Institute of Technology).  The music was loud and people were doing the hustle.  That brought back memories.  The key word for me during the late 70s and the entire 80s was “PARTY” and I did that.  I loved New York in those days.  My friends and I could work all day, find a club event on a Tuesday night, dance all night, make it home in order to sleep a few hours, and be at work on time on Wednesday.  We would be tired and watched the clock all day, thinking all we wanted to do was sleep.  Let someone mention a nightclub and we would become suddenly energized and heading for the party.  Last night it seemed that half the songs the DJ played caused my cousins to look at me and say “That was your song” meaning look for me on the dance floor.  We had a good time laughing about our younger days.   

Can I still hang like I use to?  NO, NO, NO!  I slept through most of my 25th wedding anniversary.  My husband spent most of the day laughing at me trying to stay awake.  As you can see, humor is a big part of our marriage.  We also try not to stress about special days.  He thought it was important for me to not miss my sister’s special party.  He stayed home with the dog and the family responsibilities. We plan to celebrate our anniversary in a couple of weeks, maybe with a romantic dinner.  Today’s anniversary dinner, his chopped barbeque.  That’s a lot like our wedding day 25 years ago.  We woke up that morning and decided that was the day.  Our witness was one of my childhood friends who was late getting to Borough Hall.  She was very, very pregnant and riding the subway.  We were hoping she wasn’t in labor on the subway since that would not have garnered her any sympathy on a New York subway train.  That day it was 70 degrees, after weeks of freezing weather.  I wore a mint green blouse and a white wool skirt.  After the ceremony, we sat in the park and ate hot dogs.  Two years later we had a wedding and renewed our vows in front of family and friends. 

Back to sewing matters.  So, I thought I would have the pictures done for sewing the six-gore skirt. The written instructions and cutting layouts are done.  However, this weekend was about celebrating and recovering. 

Happy Birthday to my sister.  Love you. 

Happy Anniversary to my husband.  Love you.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

