Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Sewing Project # 1: The Six-Gore Skirt – Drafting and Fitting the Pattern

Leave a comment


Hello my ambitious newbie sewists.  Are you ready to make your go-to six-gore skirt pattern that fits well and can be used over and over?

Remember, I wanted to keep the cost to a minimum so I am using some very basic tools and improvising.  However, the right tools make the job easier and faster.  If you have an L-square ruler and a curved ruler, it’s easier to square and true lines.  A wide 18” long see-thru ruler makes marking seam allowances a breeze. With a rotary cutter and cutting mat, you can cut out the pieces in seconds.

Learning to fit a garment takes practice.  This project will give you just a taste of it.  Reading about fitting and doing it a lot over time will make you better at perfecting the fit of your garments.

Click here for the lesson to draft and create the skirt sample for fitting.  If you have any questions, use the comment section.  I will answer as soon as possible.

Next week I will post instructions for constructing the skirt in “real” fabric.  Imagine the skirt in a beautiful linen or printed cotton. Remember prints are the hot look this spring and summer.  Avoid stripes and plaids for this first skirt because it’s hard to match the lines.  You can use the week to buy the fashion fabric and notions to make your six-gore skirt.

You will need:

  • Fashion fabric: yardage = 2 times the skirt length, without nap fabric
  • Interfacing: yardage = length of waistband pattern piece, lightweight and fusible
  • 9” regular skirt zipper to match your fabric
  • Thread to match your fabric

Until next week, HAPPY DRAFTING!

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

