Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Joyous Sewing

2 Comments


I haven’t posted in a while.  Kira says today is a good day to start back. Today is the anniversary of my birth.  It dawns on me that I have been sewing for forty years.  That is so cool!  Why am I still sewing?  Because it brings me joy.  Some years ago I lost that joy after working with a client that could not make decisions and allowed her other family members to strongly influence the design of her wedding dress.  It took a few years for me to get my joy back and now I only make things that bring me joy.  Now I say no to indecisive clients. 

So what will bring me joy this year?  I will make a wedding dress for a client who knew what she liked.  JOY.  I will make prom dresses for my daughter and her best friend.  JOY.  I will make a dress for my daughter for her graduation.  JOY.  Also on the list is another lined hoodie for my eldest son.  JOY.  And finishing the Chanel inspired jackets for the generations. JOY.  Finally, garments for a fashion show that will take place at a family reunion.  JOY.

I will only allow joy in my life.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

2 thoughts on “Joyous Sewing

  1. Happy joyous sewing birthday!

  2. Beautiful! Go forth and be JOY-ful my friend! It is with you always!

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

