Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Options for a snowy day – Chapter 2

1 Comment


Let it snow, let it snow

Outside it’s cold

But the fire’s blazin”

So, baby, let it snow

Let it snow

Let it snow

Let it snow.

                                                               song by Boyz II Men

 

My annual Sunday Before Christmas Dinner is off.  I guess this year it will be a Sunday Before New Year’s Dinner.  So the options I have chosen so far today: 

Sewing

I cut out the hoodie for my son. I need to cut the lining.  I decided to take a short break, during which my husband and youngest son started chanting loudly, “We want cookies! We want cookies!”  My loving husband then threatened to disconnect my internet connect if I wasn’t in the kitchen in 5 minutes. 

Christmas baking

I mixed a batch of Snickerdoodles and a batch of the Triple Chocolate cookies.  While mixing the cookies I looked out the window every so often to watch the comedy that was unfolding outside.  There is a foot of snow outside, it’s still coming down hard and heavy, and several of my neighbors are trying to drive who knows where.  Mind you, I live on a hill that curves and my house is at the bend of the curve, so I can see down to the corner intersection and up the street to the next bend.  People were out pushing cars trying to get through the intersection.  One of the cars of the neighbor on the right is now blocking the driveway of my neighbor on the left.  The neighbor on the right then moved his large sedan down his driveway into the street so he could drive the vehicle that was parked behind it.  I had to laugh out loud when it took him 15 minutes to back the large sedan back UP his driveway.  Our driveways slope down to the street; we are on a hill on a hill.

This is why the supermarkets and other stores were overcrowded yesterday.  My husband spent 1 ½ hours on the checkout line. People knew we would be snowed in.  The secondary street probably won’t be plowed until Monday.  It’s a battle to keep the main roads plowed!  Whatever we don’t have in the pantry at the moment, we don’t need.

So, baby, let it snow!

 

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

One thought on “Options for a snowy day – Chapter 2

  1. We are in the same snowy situation!! We are staying inside, with the exception of the boys going out to play in it!!

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

