Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Options for a snowy day

1 Comment


Oh the weather outside is frightful,

But the fire is so delightful,

And since we’ve no place to go,

Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!

 

Sewing Projects:

I am in the glamour mode so I could work on a cocktail dress for my Etsy shop.  Black lace, chiffon, satin, ribbon, and braiding.

I am making this jacket for my daughter using the time-consuming traditional method for the lining, handsewing.

I am making this jacket for myself using a quick method for the lining, mostly machine sewing with a little handsewing.

My oldest son wants a few hoodies.  This one is black and turquoise sweatshirt knit with a LOUD printed cotton lining.  The purple and turquoise embroidery thread is for machine embroidering a logo he designed.

My grandbaby has taken Snowbell everywhere.  Snowbell kept her company while she was in the hospital recently.  My grandbaby is healthy again, but Snowbell is not.  Her arms are literally hanging by threads.  I also need to make Snowbell a new outfit before she goes back home.

Christmas Baking to do:

  • Jamaican Fruitcake
  • Chocolate Chip Cookies
  • Oatmeal Cranberry Cookies
  • Clear the Cupboard Cookies
  • Triple Chocolate Cookies
  • Snickerdoodles
  • Butter Cookies
  • Molasses Cookies
  • Chai Shortbread
  • Spritz Cookies
  • Coconut Macaroons
  • Pecan Squares

I don’t know what I will work on, but I have no place to go.  Let it snow!

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

One thought on “Options for a snowy day

  1. I have lots of snow pics on m blog (probably too many). I’m a beginner (probably intermediate/advanced beginner). I am working on some PJ’s as I write! Almost done. I’m also off work tomorrow (been off for an entire week) but Pres Day is tomorrow! 🙂

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

