Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Another Way to be Creative

1 Comment


We all have a multitude of ways that we express our creativity.  One of my ways is through baking and decorating cakes.  I baked three cakes for Thanksgiving dinner, and I thought it would be fun to let you see them.

Black Forest Cake: devil food’s cake, cherry filling, chocolate buttercream frosting, and chocolate sprinkles.

Pineapple Coconut Cake: vanilla cake, pineapple-ginger filling, buttercream frosting, and shredded coconut.

New: Click here for Pineapple Coconut Cake recipe with fluffy frosting.

Red Velvet Cake: red velvet cake, buttercream frosting with a hint of cocoa, chocolate swirls and white chocolate shavings on top.

The only reason I didn’t have to make a cookies-and-cream cake is because my younger sister was not in town.  Since I will see her for Christmas, I will have to make one.  Not sure how I will decorate it yet.

I’ve been decorating cakes for years.  It’s great when I can combine two of my passions, such as the time I made my girlfriend’s wedding dress and then decorated her wedding cake to match the lace I used on her dress.  She loved it.  It’s great when your expressions of creativity make others smile.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

One thought on “Another Way to be Creative

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

