Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Leaning into the Curve

Leave a comment


Kira is bonding with her sewing machine.  How can I tell?  She brought me a new circle sample to examine.  If you will remember, I had her sewing concentric circles in order to learn to sew curves smoothly.   When she brought me her second sample, she wanted me to look only at the third ring on that sample.  It was the only one that looked like a smooth circle.  Yesterday, she brought her third attempt.  There were only four rings on the sample, but they all looked like circles!  This means she has better control of her machine speed and her hands are not fighting the fabric as she goes around the curve.  I guess it’s like riding a bike and leaning into the curves.  When you are comfortable, you do it naturally.

Kira's 2nd sample

 

 

Kira's 3rd sample

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

