Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Homecoming dress and Sewing lessons

2 Comments


First up, fabric shopping for the homecoming dress I learned about last night.  I forgot it was Sunday and we started out too early; the fabrics stores were not open when we arrived.  Some lattes to kill time and a quick stop in Marshall’s and Target.  Finally, Jo-Ann’s open.  My daughter selected V1089 as her starting point.  She selected a red brocade and black satin for her dress.  I suggested satin piping to make the midriff pop.  She couldn’t see my vision of the dress, so I made the muslin in red and black cotton with piping.  The piping grew on her.  I changed the skirt to a circle skirt with side pockets per her request and scooped the back neckline.  We debated the length of the dress.  I thought knee length was best since it was a full circle skirt and she planned to wear flats.  I gave in to her wishes, so it will be fingertip length, which I think will not be as graceful in a full circle skirt.  My husband wanted to know why we don’t just buy a dress.  That’s blasphemy. 

V1089fabric for homecomingmuslin for homecoming dress

I wore the knit top I made yesterday.  It’s almost to my liking.  My daughter thinks it’s nice but doesn’t care much for the print. 

1st try

This afternoon Kira came for her lesson.  She did not bring her circle sample.  She said it looked as bad as the first one.  Instead, she made pajamas for her young son in order to escape the dreaded circles.  We talked about putting the knit binding on the neck of the pajama top.  Then it was Chanel time.  She quilted the back and side back pieces.  We are both excited.  She is very confidence now, so she will quilt the other pieces at home and the next lesson will be stitching the jacket.  Here is a picture for her family and friends to prove she is actually making a Chanel jacket.  She’s tying off the sewing threads between the fabric layers to clean-finish the quilting lines.

Kira working on jacket

A very nice sewing Sunday.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

2 thoughts on “Homecoming dress and Sewing lessons

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

