Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Quest for the “Perfect” Knit Top

Leave a comment


Each of us has an idea of the perfect knit top.  What is perfect for one is not perfect according to another.  For me the perfect knit top is one that hugs and skims the body.  It hugs where it needs to hug, usually the bust area, and skims the body everywhere else.  The neckline is low enough to elongate your neck, but not so low that you see a lot of cleavage, or worst, a lot of bra.  The top is long enough to keep your midsection covered even when you reach up.  I think I am almost there.

I started with Butterick 3344, which I purchased several years ago.  It’s now an out-of-print pattern.  I altered View C, the purple top.  I changed it to a v-neck, bringing the “v” up about 1 1/2”. I lengthened the top 3” at the hem.  Finally, I tapered the sleeve in at the elbow and a little bit more at the wrist. 

  B3344

I used a VERY narrow zigzag stitch to stitch the seams.  I cut 1” strips from the selvage of lining fabric to use as shoulder stays to prevent stretching in the shoulder area.  I used a twin needle to stitch down the neck binding and hem the top.  I love the twin needle; the topstitching stretches without breaking.  Taking a clue from ready-to-wear knit tops, I stitched the sleeve to the top first (armhole seam) because it’s easier.  This allows me to hem the sleeve flat, also easier.  Then I stitched the underarm and side seams.  The top is finished and I like the look and the fit.  On the next top, using the pivot method, I want to take ½” out of the front armhole curve and open the front side seam in the bust area like a dart.  I don’t want a dart, so I will ease out the fullness.  If I love the look and fit, I will then have my go-to knit top pattern.  Pictures to come soon.

******************************************************************

Okay. What do I do with my daughter?  She just called to tell me she needs a dress for homecoming.  When is the event?  THIS FRIDAY! What color does she want?  RED!  Is that in my fabric stash? NO!  Now we have to go fabric shopping tomorrow and I have to put her Chanel jacket off until next weekend.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

