Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Shopping

2 Comments


I had to go to New York recently to take care of some business. After taking care of business, I took care of shopping. FABRIC shopping!

I feel sad turning onto 40th Street.  Most of the fabric stores are gone.  I spent so many Saturdays on that street with my brides, shopping for the perfect combination of laces, fabrics and trims for their wedding gowns.  It’s depressing.

First stop, Paron Fabrics.  I see one of the clerks originally from Art Max.  It was great seeing him after all these years.   With his help I select two pieces of wool suiting and two leather skins for a skirt.  While paying for my selection we have a discussion on the shrinking of the Garment District and the demise of all the stores.

The next stop was in Sposabella Laces.  I enter remembering how there were always customers scammed into the small store.  Not anymore.  Only the owner and one staff person in the store during my visit.  We chat. The beading, headpieces and veils were unbelievable and still are. The store has a website, so I can buy their fabulous pieces online. http://www.sposabellalace.com/index.html

I head around the block to 39th Street.  I stopped in a supply store for feet for my machine, and other supplies.

I am focused on finding for trim for my Chanel-inspired jacket.  After trying several stores, I wound up at my favorite, M&J Trimming.  http://chaneljacket.blogspot.com/2009/09/giddy.html

It’s time to head back to Port Authority and get back to Maryland.  I pass Bryant Park and the tents for Fashion Week.  I remember back in the day when I worked in midtown and Bryant Park was not safe.  I don’t think the police wanted to be there either back then.  Now there are crowds everywhere; everyone trying to be seen.

Walking up 42nd Street to Port Authority and pass a giant video screen, catching the Double Dutch Divas.  I smile.  They are still jumping after all these years.  I jumped as part of the group about 27 years ago!  http://doubledutchdivas.net/index.html

Finally, on the bus and heading home, satisfied with my purchases, but not as happy as I thought I would be.  I leave New York with some many memories.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

2 thoughts on “Shopping

  1. Isn’t it amazing the difference in the area around Bryant Park? I never lived in NYC, but used to visit there with some regularity. I have not been to the garment district, though. I wasn’t obsessed with sewing back then! Now I want to go just for what is left of the garment district!

    • The transformation around Bryant Park has been amazing. Please make the trip to the garment district. You will enjoy what is there. Unfortunately for me, I know what is missing.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

