Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Making of Doris’ Dress – Chapter 2

2 Comments


I purchased the fabric for the dress and now I need to modify the design to suit the fabric. I went to one of my favorite fabric stores, Sarah Fabrics in Takoma Park, taking my daughter with me.  I selected a “dotted” chiffon fabric.  I didn’t want a whole dress out of this fabric, so I selected a pale taupe and a black charmeuse.  After consulting my daughter I decided to make the bodice out of the pale taupe, the midriff out of the black charmeuse, and the skirt from the “dotted” chiffon.  I will line the skirt with the pale taupe charmeuse.

 the fabrics

Since the chiffon is dotted, I will not add embroidery to this dress. Also, I am changing the skirt because of the chiffon fabric.  The A-line shape won’t show the flow of the fabric, and the gore seams would interrupt the pattern in the fabric too much.  The skirt needs more flare.  The skirt in View A could work, not many seams and it flares.

Yesterday, I did the muslin, checking the fit on the dressform I made.  I need to hit the gym HARD.  All the summer cookouts and no workouts have resulted in me being bigger than the dressform.  It didn’t take much time. 

Today, I worked on constructing the midriff.  I used the technique of sandwiching the stiff interfacing between the fabric and a lightweight fusible interfacing to avoid bulky seams and a lot of handwork.

right side

back midriffinterfacing technique

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

2 thoughts on “Making of Doris’ Dress – Chapter 2

  1. It’s going to take a lot of patience to match up the pattern on the seams. But the finished article should be gorgeous.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

