Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Making of Doris’ Dress

2 Comments


One day recently I asked my love ones to critique my blog.  My cousin Shina suggested that I talk more about what inspires me when I’m creating something.  I like her suggestion and will start using it with this blog entry. 

I’m making a dress for myself to wear to a bat mitzvah.  I am using an old pattern as a starting point.  I lengthened the midriff by an inch so it would fit higher under the bust.  I did not cut the midriff on the bias because I want a firmer fit.  I am using the front of View C, but modifying the center of the bodice to look like the center of View B so that I am not showing so much cleavage.  I am using the back bodice and sleeves of View A because I haven’t worked out in a while and my upper body and arms are not as toned as they should be, so I want my back and upper arms covered.  I drafted a gored A-line skirt to give more detailing to the skirt.  

I brought a refurbished Brother SE350 embroidery machine a month ago in order to experiment with machine embroidery in my designs.  I am thinking of using it to do a tone-on-tone design on the dress at the skirt hem and on the midriff if I decide to use a solid color.

V9668

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

2 thoughts on “Making of Doris’ Dress

  1. I used to have a dress almost identical to View A! I had it made for me from a Liberty lawn fabric, in a dark blue and green floral print. The person who made it for me altered the sleeves so that they were ruched at the top and stood up a little bit more. (I think wider sleeves make the waist look smaller).
    I hope that your new dress works out well.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

