Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Quality vs. Quantity

1 Comment


The mornings are now a little cool and I love it.  It means fall, my favorite season, is coming!  I updated my inspiration wall this morning, replacing the summer fabrics with some fall fabrics.  I see that my color this season will be beige. 

My eldest son and I spend 4 days a week riding to and from work/school together.  The conversations are all over the place, from funny to serious.  We recently had a conversation about clothes, quality vs. quantity.  I have had a similar conversation with my teenage daughter. 

Let’s you and I have that conversation:

You have 10 bottoms (pants, skirts, jeans, etc.) and 10 tops.  Any top can be worn with any of the bottoms.  How many outfits do you have?….You have 100 outfits.  Now add 10 jackets (sweaters, hoodies, etc.) which can be worn with any of your outfits.  Now how many outfits do you have?…. You have 1,000 outfits! You have 2 years and 9 months of outfits! This doesn’t include your various accessories which are used to dress an outfit up or down.  Got the picture?

When I was younger and single, I made all my clothes.  Any clothing that I had that I hadn’t made, I’d brought at sample sales at a STEEP discount.  It was not usual for me buy a pair of shoes, designing and sewing an outfit specifically for that pair of shoes.  Image what my closets looked like.  I am older; still love designing and sewing, but also want to do other things.  I am also into a simplified life, so when I was house hunting, a walk-in closet did not turn me on.  We brought a house in which my husband and I share a closet that is 8-feet wide.  I know you could not do that, but it works for me.  It makes me strategic about my sewing and shopping.  This is where the quality vs. quantity comes into play in my sewing.  Time is precious, space is limited, and money is both.  At this point in my life, my sewing will be about quality. 

What’s your goal, quality or quantity?

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

One thought on “Quality vs. Quantity

  1. What a great post! Quality all day long.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

