Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Perplexity – continues

4 Comments


I started working on Perplexity again.  The piecing work is almost complete. I think perplex adequately describes my current state of mine. 

A prospective client chose another person because that person just seemed to match her style more considering what she wanted.  I found that interesting because in the past my customers did not choose me because of my style; they chose me because I could deliver their style.  I should say that the prospective client never met me personally, nor was she referred to me personally.  This is part of the current social networking/social media way of doing business, upon which my style is based on the limited information provided in this blog and my Etsy shop.

That I supposedly have a specific style is enlightening and frightening at the same time.  I never thought I had a specific style.  I have always dressed and created based on current situations. For example, yesterday we took a car trip to New York to attend a cookout.  I wore a short sleeve brown t-shirt from Target with a long cream-color chiffon embroidered skirt my sister gave me years ago and tan “earth-mother” slip-on sandals.  Friday, I wore dark bootleg denim jeans and a white scoop neck t-shirt with a navy double knit short-sleeve jacket.  Both the jeans and jacket are from Ann Taylor Loft, the t-shirt from Target.  I completed my look with red patent-leather high-heel pointed-toe pumps that I purchased because they are sexy, and a large Swarovski crystal brooch that was originally my mother’s.

Currently, I am growing my hair out after years of chemical relaxers, so my hair is in twists.  According to my family you never know what my hairstyle will be each time you see me. I have never worn wigs or weaves.  One day my hair is long and hanging down my back. The next day, I may have cut my hair into an extremely short natural.  I am comfortable with my hair at any length.

Some mornings I put on the 2-minute face, some mornings it’s the 10-minute face.  Some mornings I won’t put on any makeup although I have plenty of time. Like India Arie sings, “it really just depends on whatever feels good in my soul.”

I am perplexed and need answers as I expand from the traditional word-of-mouth business model into the digital word-of-mouth business model.  What is my style?  And do I need to change it?

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

4 thoughts on “Perplexity – continues

  1. I loved reading your blog and I think others will too. It’s hard to improve on perfection!

    As for the “Style” thing, I say that was one client that you more than likely wanted to pass on anyway. I learned (the hard way of course) that we are not meant to work with everyone that we meet. You are genuine, flexible and appreciate people for who they are. From where I sit that gives you the unique ability to create what they want with no need to inject your style in the process. So I say “Sew on” girl!!!

  2. Thanks missmk. This helps my thinking. You are right. I don’t need to inject my style. I had a bride that allowed her mother to inject herself throughout the process and that bride wasn’t happy with the dress until I isolated the mother. The style of the dress changed dramatically. One of the lessons I learned the hard way.

  3. I LOVE this dress!!! I saw it on Etsy…and then when I saw the gorgeous patchwork you have begun with it…I wish I had an occasion for it!!! 🙂

    You are very talented!

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

