Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Modern Glow – Final Chapter

Leave a comment


The dress is done.  I was working on it when a wonderful part of life popped up.  A girlfriend called me and there was a lot of background noise.  Where was she?  At a station waiting for the train that was bringing her mother for a month-long visit.  The Amtrak station is 5 minutes from my house so I told her to please stop by so I could give her mother a hug.  She needed to make one stop before me, so I had an hour to finish the dress before they arrived.  The doorbell rang one minute after I made the last stitch.  They love the dress.  Now I need to put it in the shop.

The rest of the day was spent taking life as it came.  Playing with Wii Fit in my home gym, and laughing at our Wii Fit ages and BMIs.  Setting a goal of losing 15 pounds over the next 3 months then eating chocolate mousse cake while watching an Earth, Wind and Fire concert from 1981.  Watching episodes of Bulging Brides while eating fried tilapia, red rice, and string beans. 

As you can guess, the challenge over the next few months will be entertaining in a healthy manner.  My husband is the cook and I am the baker.  People enjoy coming to our house, and we enjoy feeding them.  Our good times center around dinners, holidays and the big annual backyard barbeque.  I will be spending a lot of time in the home gym, but that’s the price to pay for all the good times I share with family and friends.  Life is wonderful.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

