Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Skirt Blitz – Chapter 2

2 Comments


The attack continues!  I completed the polka dotted skirt.  Now I’m working on a stripe one. The fabric is a cotton seersucker stripe purchased last year from Joann Fabrics. I also brought a pack of pre-made piping in dark brown.  I decided to be a little created on this one, so I am making a pleated skirt.  However, I am not always one for being simple and quick.  Here is the skirt in progress.  The yoke and the skirt body are from the same piece of fabric. 
cotton striped seersucker

cotton striped seersucker

 

pleats closed

pleats closed

 

pleats opened

pleats opened

 

                    *********************************************

I only have to hem the pleated skirt and decided to stop at that point.  It’s lined with a very soft unbleached muslin.  I piped the waistline and yoke seams and that got me to thinking.  Should I bind the hem with narrow dark brown binding?  That would bring the eyes from the horizontal brown lines at the yoke to a horizontal line at the hem.  Of course, I don’t have the narrow binding, so that means a trip to the store.

almost done

almost done

 

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

2 thoughts on “Skirt Blitz – Chapter 2

  1. Doris, this is very impressive reading. I am enjoying and at the same time trying to understand what I am reading. I am interested in your products. Will talk with you soon.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

