Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

The Making of Diana’s Dress

Leave a comment


Diana is a friend of mine, as well as a client.  Usually, I see her when she or a daughter needs a special dress.  I know Diana is a good friend because when I took a LONG break from sewing for customers due to the burnout caused by the bride from H@%%, I would only sew for family and friends I love and Diana and family met that qualification.  Diana is about to attend a high school reunion.  You know that means a person has to look GOOD.  You want to be the person everyone else looks at after all these years and says “WHOAA, she looks great!” 

Diana’s dress has been evolving.  She came with a picture of Halle Berry in a long beige gown, cut low.  We raised the neckline, eliminated the front pleats on the skirt, and decided to make a red chiffon dress.  One of her daughters went shopping with us and the dress became reddish orange.  All three of us thought it was a great color in the fabrics we chose.  I made the muslin for the dress and fitted Diana.  She called shortly after leaving my house.  She wanted to show me a top that one of her daughters was wearing.   She stopped by and showed me the picture on a cell phone.  Don’t you love technology?  Now the dress will have wide straps and a sweetheart neckline.  I told her I could not do the ruching because there wasn’t enough chiffon to do the bodice that way.  While I was making the muslin of the new bodice, I thought about the ruching and came up with an alternative.  I added gathers along the center front.  We had the second muslin fitting and really like the new look.  Diana looks GOOD in the mock-up, so she will look fantastic in the final dress.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

