Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

What to say about THE wedding dress

Leave a comment


Last night I watched one of the many bridal reality shows that has flooded television, bombarding the viewing audience with unrealistic ideas.  Appearing on the show was a woman who had just lost her job shopping for a $5,000 WEDDING DRESS!  That was her idea of being budget conscious.  On the advice of the sales person she could cut back on other areas of the wedding in order to purchase her dream dress.  The problem: her dream dress made her look like a squat blinged-out nightmare. I believe the dress should enhance your beauty.  I don’t want to see the dress wearing the bride; I want to see the bride wearing the dress.

Most dress designers and wedding consultants want you to believe that the more you spend, the better. Historically, brides wore dresses in the richest materials money could buy, reflecting their social status and their family’s wealth.  Even the poorest bride wore their best dress on their wedding day.  For most women, there are many occasions to dress up, but only one day to wear the wedding dress, so the wedding dress should be special.  It’s one of the biggest days of your life, so go for it.  But remember, money doesn’t buy you style, and style is available in all price ranges.  It should not mean paying for the dress many years after the wedding.

 I always tell my clients that the most important thing about their wedding day is that they (the bride and the groom) exchange wedding vows.  Nothing else matters except that they exchange wedding vows.  This prepares the bride for the unexpected, which always happens on her wedding day.  It also helps the bride to prioritize things, putting the wedding dress in its proper place, which is not first.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

