Mpressive Threadz Studio Blog

Sharing my love of sewing

Designing a small sewing studio

1 Comment


I have a VERY small sewing space. VERY SMALL!  It’s not working for me. My fabric stash is not easy to get to.  I have a blindstitch machine and nowhere to put it.  Time for a change.  I am redesigning my space.  My husband saw me measuring the space and said, “Oh no.  I’m in trouble.”  I promise to make it as easy for him as possible.

I looked on the Internet at the sewing spaces on other sites.  I must admit some of them made me jealous because they were so spacious.  When we lived in South Carolina, my husband, father-in-law and brother-in-law built me a stand-alone studio about 10 feet from the house.  I loved it.  I had a worktable in the middle of the studio that was 5 feet wide and 8 feet long.  I could lay out the fabric for a dress with no problems. Under the table was PLENTY OF STORAGE.  A counter and electrical outlets ran the entire length of the long wall in the studio.  There was PLENTY OF STORAGE under the counter.  My computer station was in one corner in front of a window that allowed me to look at the cornfields and the road.  The house was at the end of a dirt road, so it was peaceful.  My machines were at the other end of the studio in front of a window that allowed me to look out into the side yard where I could watch my kids play on the swing set we built for them.  A ceiling fan kept it cool, along with the screen door.  It was painted white with dark green trim to match the main house.  Music was always on.  I miss that studio. 

Here is the current floor plan and the new one I’ve planned.

Author: Mpressive Threadz

I started sewing when I was 11 years old, and had my own clients when I was 12. I graduated from the H.S. of Fashion Industries, majoring in fashion design. I expanded my technical background by attending evening classes at the Fashion Institute of Technology and working many years at a major pattern company. I have been creating custom wedding gowns and evening dresses for more years than I care to count. I LOVE WORKING WITH FABRICS. I love fine sewing techniques. I love creating beautiful dresses.

One thought on “Designing a small sewing studio

  1. I would LOVE to email you with a few questions. I am a 501c3 that makes quilts for our Wounded Troops. My husband suggested today about the maybe building a separate studio to get all the sewing stuff out of the house.

Comments are welcomed. Let me hear from you.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers